Social Media and Libraries

I want to write a blog for the British Library November 29, 2008

Filed under: blogs,Uncategorized — eileen11 @ 4:36 pm

Blogging about blogging...

“Blogging has become not just fashionable but mandatory in today’s business world” (Robert Harbison, Western Kentucky University Library)

 

Creating a blog is easy to do and a great tool to connect with library staff, patrons, community and fellow bloggers. The key to having a site that people visit regularly is  writing about engaging topics and updating your blog regularly. In sum, know your audience and write content that is relevant to them.

 

I personally find a lot of information  from reading  blogs-yet  my favorite blogs seem to be written by disgruntled librarians and not paid staff. Yet, I am in absolutely in love with The British Library Blogs: Engage with our experts (BLB). While I read the BLB, I imagine that I live in London, work for the library and just checking out what my colleagues are up to. But I digress…

 

Why do I love the BLB?

 

Because its just not one blog, its seven blogs wrapped into one. The blogs are written by  curators and experts on a range of topics, such as: Talking Liberties, The Patent Search Blog, Harold Pinter Archive Blog, Digital Lives, Archival sounds and Breaking the Rules. My favorite blogs are Archival Sounds and Breaking the Rules blog on curating, books and arts. The content is  diverse  and there is something for everyone. The BLB is also a  great marketing tool for the library, as it  engages a large percentage of  BLB  target audience.

 

I found the blog, while I was searching though the libraries online gallery, which led  me to the Breaking the Rules blog, which than brought me to the main BLB blog site. Yet, the BLB site can be found on  the NYPL homepage. If you happen to miss their homepage link,  the library does an excellent job of providing various  links to the blogs  within the website –so if you missed the link on the homepage , you will be sure to find it elsewhere on the site.

 

The feature that I just starting using is their  RSS feed option-this way I can find out about new content and posts regularly.  I highly suggest, anyone who enjoys this blog to add this application. The library has also successfully integrated tagging, audio and social bookmarking, which is connected to the blog and extremely easy to use. I am in social media library heaven!

 

References:

The Blogging Libraries Wiki

How to Blog Design Style Guide

Good, Robin: How To Blog: A Beginner’s Blog Publishing Guide

New York Public Library

Library Bytes

 

Leave a comment